City Council

Merriam City Council 2022

Pictured from left to right: Jason Silvers, Jacob Laha, Amy Rider, Whitney Yadrich, Bob Pape, Staci Chivetta, Bruce Kaldahl, Christine Evans Hands. Not pictured: David Neal. 


The City of Merriam has four city council districts or wards. Two council members from each ward are elected to represent the citizens from that district. Candidates for the position of mayor run "at-large," which means that registered voters from all four of Merriam's wards vote for Mayor. Each governing body member serves a four-year term, with elections held every odd-numbered year to choose one representative from each of the four wards.


  • City Council meetings are held the second and fourth Monday of each month, beginning at 7 p.m.
  • Location: Council Chambers, City Hall; 9001 W. 62nd St.; Merriam, Kansas 66204
  • All meetings are open to the public


Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings and minutes from previous meetings are available following approval.
View Agendas & Minutes

Merriam's Current Governing Body Members